What is Public Health ?

According to WHO definition Public health refers to all organized measures (whether public or private) to prevent disease, promote health, and prolong life among the population as a whole. Its" activities aim to provide conditions in which people can be healthy and focus on entire populations, not on individual patients or diseases", Thus, public health is concerned with the total system and not only the eradication of a particular disease. The term global public health recognizes that, as a result of globalization, forces that affect public health can and do come from outside state boundaries and that responding to public health issues now requires attention to cross-border health risks, including access to dangerous products and environmental change.

Who is public health worker?

“a person educated in public health or a related discipline employed to improve health through a population focus” - Institute of Medicine, 2003. Another example of definition “…those responsible for providing the essential services of public health regardless of the organization in which they work” - DHHS 1994

The need for PH professionals

Most of the health strategies in developed countries shows major rule of Public health professionals in order to accomplish the main strategic objectives. According to the Association of the Schools of Public Health (ASPH) in USA, the public health field currently is experiencing a shortage in workers, while the U.S. population continues to grow, This combination is expected to result in a shortage of nearly 250,000 professionals—approximately one-third of the workforce needed to identify, treat, and prevent new and emerging public health threats. Also according to Hunter, D.J., Lapp, I., Frenk, J. Education in public health: expanding the frontiers, American journal of Preventive medicine 2014, its estimated that approximately 80% of local health department directors in the USA do not have graduate degree in Public health.

The three main public health functions are:

  1. The assessment and monitoring of the health of communities and populations at risk to identify health problems and priorities.
  2. The formulation of public policies designed to solve identified local and national health problems and priorities.
  3. To assure that all populations have access to appropriate and cost-effective care, including health promotion and disease prevention services.

The main duties of the public health profession can be summarized in the following points: (14 points)

  1. Identify and analyze current and expected health problems in the community and analyze them according to geographical, demographic, social and economic data, and suggest the appropriate solutions.
  2. Lead or take a major role in the investigations and management of a significant incidence including but not limited to a communicable disease outbreak , non- infectious disease incidence.
  3. Develop, implement and evaluate health protection programs, applying knowledge of common environmental hazards including but not limited to water and sewage treatment and quality control of water, soil, air and food.
  4. Study of the causes of health problems.
  5. Identify health needs and priorities in the community.
  6. Planning health care programs that include promotion of preventive health, treatment and rehabilitation and management.
  7. Activate the work of the health team and the participation of members of the community and coordination between the different sectors involved in the planning, organization and evaluation of health programs.
  8. Conduct researches and studies of health-related problems.
  9. Participate in the training of workers in the health sector.
  10. Develop health education programs that accommodate with the needs of community and ensure its participation.
  11. Evaluate and develop health services to increase their effectiveness.
  12. Contribute to the formulation of healthy public policy or legislation at local or national level.
  13. Lead or make a significant contribution to a major public health campaign demonstrating an understanding of appropriate theory and applications of social marketing and mass communications.
  14. Implement and evaluate a health promotion intervention including assessment of outcome methods and costs, identifying strength and limitations of intervention, communicating findings and making recommendations.

ما هي الصحة العامة؟

وفقًا لتعريف منظمة الصحة العالمية ، تشير الصحة العامة إلى جميع التدابير المنظمة (سواء العامة أو الخاصة) لمنع الأمراض ، وتعزيز الصحة ، وإطالة العمر بين السكان ككل. وتهدف أنشطتها إلى توفير بيئه صحية والتركيز على مجموعات سكانية كاملة ، وليس على المرضى الفرديين أو الأمراض" ، وبالتالي ، فإن الصحة العامة تهتم بالنظام الكلي وليس فقط استئصال مرض معين. و يعد مصطلح الصحة العامة العالمية نتيجة للعولمة ، حيث يمكن للقوى التي تؤثر على الصحة العامة أن تأتي من خارج حدود الدولة وأن الاستجابة لقضايا الصحة العامة تتطلب الآن الاهتمام بالمخاطر الصحية العالمية بما في ذلك الوصول إلى المنتجات الخطرة و التغيير البيئي.

من هو موظف الصحة العامة؟

"الشخص المتعلم في مجال الصحة العامة أو أي مجال ذي صلة يستخدم لتحسين الصحة من خلال التركيز على السكان" - معهد الطب ، 2003. مثال آخر على التعريف "... أولئك المسؤولين عن توفير الخدمات الأساسية للصحة العامة بغض النظر عن المنظمة التي يعملون فيها "- DHHS 1994

الحاجة إلى مهنيي الصحة العامة

تتبع معظم الاستراتيجيات الصحية في البلدان المتقدمة قاعدة رئيسية لمهنيي الصحة العامة من أجل تحقيق الأهداف الاستراتيجية الرئيسية، وفقًا لرابطة مدارس الصحة العامة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. يعاني مجال الصحة العامة حاليًا من نقص في العمال ، في حين أن عدد سكان الولايات المتحدة مستمر في النمو، ومن المتوقع أن يؤدي هذا المزيج إلى نقص يقارب 250000 محترف -أي ما يقارب ثلث القوى العاملة اللازمة لتحديد ومعالجة والحد من تهديدات الصحة العامة الجديدة والناشئة. أيضا وفقا ل Hunter, D.J., Lapp, I., Frenk, J. Education in public health مايقارب 80 ٪ من مديري إدارة الصحة المحلية في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية لا يحملون شهادات علمية في تخصص الصحة العامة -المجلة الأمريكية للطب الوقائي لعام 2014.

وظائف الصحة العامة الرئيسية الثلاثة هي:

  1. تقييم ورصد صحة المجتمعات والسكان المعرضين للخطر لتحديد المشكلات والأولويات الصحية.
  2. صياغة السياسات العامة المصممة لحل المشكلات والأولويات الصحية المحلية والوطنية المحددة.
  3. لضمان حصول جميع السكان على الرعاية المناسبة والفعالة من حيث التكلفة ، بما في ذلك خدمات تعزيز الصحة والوقاية من الأمراض.

يمكن تلخيص المهام الرئيسية لمهنة الصحة العامة في النقاط التالية: (14 نقطة)

  1. تحديد وتحليل المشكلات الصحية الحالية والمتوقعة في المجتمع وتحليلها وفقًا للبيانات الجغرافية والديمغرافية والاجتماعية والاقتصادية واقتراح الحلول المناسبة.
  2. يؤدي دورا رئيسيا في التحقيقات وإدارة الحوادث بما في ذلك على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، تفشي الأمراض المعدية ، والأمراض غير المعدية.
  3. وضع برامج الحماية الصحية وتنفيذها وتقييمها ، وتطبيق المعرفة بالمخاطر البيئية الشائعة ، بما في ذلك على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، معالجة المياه والصرف الصحي ومراقبة جودة المياه والتربة والهواء والغذاء.
  4. دراسة أسباب المشكلات الصحية.
  5. تحديد الاحتياجات والأولويات الصحية في المجتمع.
  6. تخطيط برامج الرعاية الصحية التي تتضمن الترويج للصحة الوقائية والعلاج وإعادة التأهيل والإدارة.
  7. تفعيل عمل الفريق الصحي ومشاركة أعضاء المجتمع والتنسيق بين مختلف القطاعات المشاركة في تخطيط وتنظيم وتقييم البرامج الصحية.
  8. إجراء الأبحاث والدراسات حول المشكلات المتعلقة بالصحة.
  9. المشاركة في تدريب العاملين في القطاع الصحي.
  10. تطوير برامج التثقيف الصحي التي تتلاءم مع احتياجات المجتمع وضمان مشاركته.
  11. تقييم الخدمات الصحية وتطويرها لزيادة فعاليتها.
  12. المساهمة في صياغة سياسة أو تشريعات عامة صحية على المستوى المحلي أو المستوى الوطني.
  13. يسهم بشكل كبير في حملة رئيسية للصحة العامة تدل على فهم النظرية والتطبيقات المناسبة للتسويق الاجتماعي والاتصالات الجماعية..
  14. تنفيذ وتقييم تعزيز الصحة بما في ذلك تقييم أساليب النتائج والتكاليف وتحديد نقاط القوة والقيود و توصيل النتائج وتقديم التوصيات.